You never forget your first: Potstickers

3 Sep

Crispy on one side, wrinkly on the other

While on an impromptu Super Target run last night, a package of wonton wrappers caught my eye and I was reminded of the Good Eats episode I saw recently based on the prodigious pasta purveyor. Potstickers are one of my favorite things in this world and to this point I had never ventured to make them myself. Thanks, Alton, for pulling back the veil of mystique on this simple dish with so many flavor possibilities.

Dish: Potstickers

Ingredient Roll Call:

  • 1 package of wonton wrappers (usually around 60 count)
  • 1/2 lb ground pork
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ~1/3 cup each of minced bell pepper (any color will do) and onion (green or standard)
  • ~1 tbsp each minced ginger and garlic
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • cracked pepper to taste
  • drizzle each of sriracha, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and teriyaki
  • ~1.5 cups chicken stock or water for steaming
  • Vegetable oil (enough to lightly coat pan for each batch)
  • Makes 30-40 potstickers

How I do it:

Normally I would go through my entire procedure here, but I think Alton does a great job in this excerpt from Good Eats, and frankly, I followed his instructions fairly faithfully here.   Plus, it’s always easier to replicate when you have a visualizaion to go from.  Take it away, AB.

After the first batch that stuck just a little too much, they started turning out really nicely.  They key was leaving the heat between medium and medium-high and making sure to add plenty of stock to loosen their grip on the pan and steam them through.  All in all, a successful first attempt and something I will certainly come back to with new filling ideas.

Filling before mixing

Potsticker before cooking

Sticky-icky

One Response to “You never forget your first: Potstickers”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pillows of Pork: Carbonara Potstickers | Forkful of News - August 15, 2010

    […] and cook potstickers in their traditional fashion (a simple recipe exists at my personal blog, inspired by the inimitable Alton […]

Leave a Reply

