Nightcap: Hott Chocolate

25 Sep

Hott Chocolate Mug

Bonus late nite post here to make up for my regrettable absence for most of the week.  Desperate for relief for my sinus maladies this week, I’ve turned to hot beverages to loosen up that nasal traffic jam (sorry for that).  Tea was so-so, coffee kept me up, so I returned to a childhood classic with a twist: homemade hot chocolate with a chile kicker.  Forget that powdered mess.  Swiss Miss – get ready for a Swiss Diss.  OK, I’m done. (I shouldn’t be allowed to write this late).

Libation: Hott Chocolate

Ingredient Rundown:

  • 1-1.5 cups of milk (I use 1% for my figure)
  • ~1/3 cup of semisweet chocolate chips or other baking chocolate
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • small splash of vanilla extract
  • 1-2 shakes of cinnamon
  • dash of ground chile powder (not CHILI powder, as this contains garlic, salt, cumin and other spices that, while tasty, do NOT belong in hot chocolate)

How I do it:

  1. In a small saucepan heat milk over medium heat for 5-8 minutes until hot.
  2. Add chocolate, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and chile powder
  3. Continue stirring for several minutes until chocolate has dissolved. Serve.

There’s just no comparison to the powder in terms of rich texture.  The vanilla and cinnamon add a great depth of flavor and the bright, delicate heat of the chile powder serves as a counterpoint to the bittersweet chocolate.  A little peppermint schnapps wouldn’t be out of order here either.  Take that, ragweed.Hott Chocolate Stirring

Leave a Reply

