Wine is Fine: Sonoma-Cutrer Russian River Ranches Chardonnay 2007

4 Dec

Tonight’s beverage selection includes a popular chardonnay from the Barriques Middleton tasting menu.  The Sonoma-Cutrer Russian River Estates Chardonnay 2007. Not much background on this one.  I’m drinking it with some chicken scallopini (recipe forthcoming) I made for dinner tonight.  Let’s get to it.

Wine: Sonoma-Cutrer Russian River Estates Chardonnay 2007

Style: Sonoma Coast (California) Chardonnay

Vitals: 14.2% abv

Company line: “I know of no other wine that better captures the spirit, passion, and dedication of those who grow and make it.  -Terry Adams, Winemaker”   Umm, ok, guy.

My take: straw yellow and crystal clear in the glass, notes of honeyed pear, pineapple and buttery oak.  High minerality leads to a clean, mostly dry, lightly acidic mouthfeel.  Great balance all around yields high drinkability.  To use a beer analogy, this is the casked English bitter of wines – clean and refined, more than the sum of its parts.  Class in a glass.  I could go on.  I won’t.  $18-$20/bottle range.  Or come to Barriques and I’ll pour you a glass.  Lord knows I could use the company.


One Response to “Wine is Fine: Sonoma-Cutrer Russian River Ranches Chardonnay 2007”

  1. Mary Palmer January 13, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

    Hi there. I love Sonoma-Cutrer! Would you mind if I use this photo on my own blog? I will credit and link back to you…
    Sorry for the comment but I couldn’t find the contact button for you.

Leave a Reply

