Cocktail with a kick: Moscow Mule

16 Jun

No lattes 'til you finish your drink

Ginger beer is one of my favorite summer things.  Throw in some mint and lime juice and I can’t think of a drink I’d rather lounge with as the humidity rises.  I stumbled upon the Moscow Mule as I looked for drinks that utilized ginger beer and/or the big mint plant that’s dominating my porch.  Emerging in Los Angeles in the 1940’s, the Moscow Mule was instrumental in popularizing vodka in an otherwise gin-crazy America.  Leave it to LA to blend East (vodka) and West (ginger beer) in a beverage made for summer.

Moscow Mule

Ingredient rundown:

  • 1.5 oz vodka
  • ~6 oz ginger beer (I like Barritt’s for cocktails, but was trying out Target’s Archer Farm’s brand this time.  Verdict: not bad, a little sweet and could use a little more spicy kick)
  • fresh lime juice (I used 2 small key limes per drink)
  • 4-6 mint leaves, bruised + a sprig for garnish
  • ice

How I do it

  1. Tradition calls for serving the mule in a copper mug.  Well I don’t have one of those.  What I do have is a stainless steel milk pitcher, cuz I’m a barista and all.  Seemed like an appropriate substitution.  Fill that guy with ice, the vodka, ginger beer and lime juice.
  2. Bruise the mint leaves and toss those in along with the spent lime wedges. Stir.
  3. Sit back and sip one of the more refreshing beverages I can think of on a hot summer day/eve.
  4. Try it with rum instead of vodka for a more Dark and Stormy-like beverage with a little more depth of flavor.
Leave a Reply

